ǼLEX emerged winners of the Second Lagos Court of Arbitration – Young Arbitrators Network (LCA-YAN) International Commercial Arbitration Moot Competition which held at the Lagos Court of Arbitration from 26 – 27 July 2018.

ǼLEX edged out the law firm of Aluko & Oyebode in the final by 426 to 385 points. Both firms squared off before an arbitral tribunal consisting of Chief Bayo Ojo, SAN, FCIArb (Principal Partner, Bayo Ojo & Co.), Oyinkansola Badejo-Okunsanya (Partner, Africa Law Practice), and Tijmen Klein Bronsvoort (Senior Associate, De Brauw Blackstone Westbroek, Amsterdam, The Netherlands).


Endurance Okpa Agbor of ǼLEX also emerged as the “Best Law Firm Advocate” of the Competition.

ǼLEX had on Thursday, 26 July 2018 defeated 2017 winners Banwo & Ighodalo at the semi-final, while Aluko & Oyebode defeated Babalakin & Co to proceed to the final.

The ǼLEX team comprised of Endurance Okpa Agbor, Chizaram Uzodinma, Cynthia Eke, and Gabriel Nwodo. The team was coached by Ibifubara Berenibara, Olatoye Akinbode, Ngozi Efobi (MCIArb), Ishaya Amaza, and Odinaka Okoye.


The moot provided opportunities for young arbitration practitioners to gain exposure and better appreciate the various aspects of international commercial arbitration. With the permission of the Willem C. Vis Moot Association, the 2018 Vis Moot problem was used for the LCA-YAN Moot Competition.

For Adverts Mail contact@lawyard.ng

Please follow and like us:

Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)